What's New !!

Pricing Offers

We are happy to announce special offers for miniOrange Atlassian SSO, 2FA, REST API, User Sync and Group Sync Apps.

Contact Info

For any query, product related information or any help , contact us now. You can also raise a ticket with our support.

 

Contact Us Now

Bulk User Management for Jira


Bulk User Management for the Jira app, gives the ability to automatically and efficiently manage users in JIRA and automatically deactivate inactive users to save licensed user count. Here we will go through a guide to configure Bulk User management with Jira. By the end of the guide, You can bulk Activate, Bulk Delete and, Automatically Identify inactive users based on their last login time and deactivate users on a regular basis.



Pre-requisites

To configure Bulk User Management for Jira, you need the following items:

  • Jira should be installed and configured.
  • Admin credentials are set up in Jira.
  • Valid Jira Server or Data center Licence.

Download And Installation



  • Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
  • Navigate to the settings menu and Click Manage Apps.
  • Click Find new apps or find new add-ons from the left-hand side of the page.
  • Locate Bulk User Management for JIRA via search.
  • Click Try free to begin a new trial or buy now to purchase a license for Bulk User Management for Jira.
  • Enter your information and click Generate license when redirected to MyAtlassian.
  • Click Apply license.

Step 1: Setup Bulk User Management

  • In the MINIORANGE USER MANAGEMENT section, Click on the Bulk User Management section.
  • You can search or filter the active, inactive or all the users based on their groups.
  • Select the Users for bulk operation using the checkbox associated with it.
  • You can apply operations like activate, deactivate or delete on the users in a bulk using Action on User dropdown. Also, you can add or remove the users from the groups in a bulk using Action on group dropdown. After selecting the required options from the dropdown, click on Apply button.
  • You can also perform action on user & action on groups at a time.
  • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users

Step 2: Setup Users Auto Deactivation

  • Navigate to the User Management Tab.
  • In the MINIORANGE USER MANAGEMENT section, Click on the Deactivate Users section.
  • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users
  • If you want to deactivate a user who has not logged in for X number of days then you can enable the Auto Deactivate Users option and set Days accordingly. By default, it automatically Deactivates a user if login is not done for 30 days.
  • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk management deactivate user
  • If you want to deactivate a never logged-in user then enable the Deactivate Never Logged-In Users.
  • If you want to deactivate users who have only logged in once, then enable the Deactivate Only Logged-In Once Users option.
  • If you do not want to Auto-deactivate users from specific groups, then enable the Exclude group for Auto Deactivation option. After enabling this option, you will get a dropdown to select the groups.
  • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users
  • You can set the Custom Time at which Scheduler will start running where if the selected time (in hours and minutes) is before the current time, then the scheduler will start after the days mentioned below and if it is after the current time, then it will run on the day itself and after that according to scheduled days.
  • If Enable Reactivate Users option is enabled, then any inactive user who tries to login and authenticates successfully will be activated.
  • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users

Step 3: Bulk Group Management

  • In the MINIORANGE USER MANAGEMENT section, Click on the Bulk Group Management section. Here, you can create and delete groups in bulk.
        • Create Groups

              1. Manual Entry

            • In Enter group names field, enter the group names manually. You can add multiple groups at a time by adding multiple group names separated by semicolons.
            • Then click on Add groups button.
            • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users

              2. Upload CSV File

            • Import the groups by uploading the CSV file with Groups names that contain Group names in it. You can also get the Sample CSV file format by clicking on the download link.
            • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users

          Delete Groups

        • Select the required groups that you want to delete from the Select groups dropdown. You can select multiple groups here.
        • Then click on the Delete Button.
              1. Note: Groups with Admin Access will not be deleted.

          Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users

Step 4: Bulk User Management Plugin Audit Logs

  • To get all the details of the actions performed in the Bulk User Management plugin, click on the mo Audit Log option from the left menu in the MINIORANGE USER MANAGEMENT section.
  • Enable the Auto Delete Audit Logs option to automatically delete the logs after the numbers of days mentioned in the Days text field.
  • The logs include details like Username, Date, IP Address, Action, Description of the Action performed.
  • You can filter the logs based on Actions such as User Deactivated, User Activated, User Deleted, Removed from Group, Added to Group, Imported Users, Scheduler Enabled, Scheduler Disabled, Group Created, Group Deleted, Delete Logs Scheduler Enabled, Delete Logs Scheduler Disabled, and User Reactivated.
  • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users

Step 5: Import Export Users

  • In the MINIORANGE USER MANAGEMENT section, Click on the Import Export Users section.
  • To import the users, you can need upload .CSV file. You will find the format in by clicking on the download link as highlited in the below image.
  • In the export users section you can export the users in .CSV file format by selecting Export users in CSV option from the given dropdown.
  • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users
  • From the given options select the user details which you want to export.
  • Setup Bulk User Management fo Jira, Bulk action management to inactivate deactivate users

Recommended Add-Ons